Parliament of Sri Lanka - Monetary Law Act as Amended up June 30, 2014

The Parliament of Sri Lanka’s Monetary Law Act is an Act to establish the monetary system of Sri Lanka and the Central Bank to administer and regulate the system. The act confers and imposes upon the monetary board of the Central Bank powers, functions and responsibilities necessary for the purpose of such administration and regulation of the system, as well as provides for connected matters. The act is divided into several chapters, and sets forth provisions on the following topics:

1. The Central Bank, Its Powers and Purposes
2. The Monetary Board
3. The Governor and the Deputy Governors
4. Departments of the Central Bank
6. Reports and Publications
7. Profits, Losses and Special Accounts
8. Audit
9. Restrictions Relating to Central Bank Officers and Servants
10. The Central Bank and the Means of Payment
11. The Central Bank and National Monetary Policy
12. Instruments of Central Bank Action
13. The Central Bank as Fiscal Agent, Banker and Financial Advisor of the Government

Document Details

Document Type: 
Document Topic: 
Doument Author (Entity): 
Authoring Country: 
Originating Country or Trade Block: 
Issue Status: 
Year of Document: 
Date of Document: 
Monday, June 30, 2014
Document Authors: 
Parliament of Sri Lanka
Language (This Document): 

Legal Disclaimer: The content appearing on this site is for general information purposes only and made available on an "AS-IS" basis. The law is subject to change and no representation or warranty is made with regard to accuracy or fitness for a particular purpose.