Introduction To The Level 1 Project and its implications for DFS

September 27, 2017
Event Time: 
9am EDT
Event Type: 
Event Country: 

Title: Introduction To The Level 1 Project and its implications for DFS 

Combining data gathered in the field and innovative thinking informed by consumers’ needs, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foudnation has developed one model for a country-level digital financial services system called Level 1 that is designed to bring the poor into the formal economy.  The BMGF have created a working digital financial services prototype to demonstrate how the system works.  Kosta Peric of the BMGF will introduce you to the Level 1 Platform and discuss its implications for DFS.

Date: Sep 27 2017

Time: UTC 1pm | New York 9am | Lagos 2pm | Nairobi 4pm | New Delhi 6:30pm | Jakarta 8pm
[Click on https://goo.gl/PFC1H4 for the start time corresponding to your time zone]

This webinar aired earlier and can be watched below

Presenter: Kosta Peric, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

 

   Kosta Peric is a visionary technologist and thought leader, that has been working in the fusion between technology, finance and innovation. One of the top fintech worldwide     personalities, he is Deputy Director, Financial Services for the Poor, at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, where he leads the team that focuses on finance inclusion and  digital payments. From governance through business models to technology, from ideas through architecture to development, he oversees the strategy and grants to deliver secure, reliable and affordablefinancial inclusion and digital payment solutions.

Kosta Peric leads the organization’s efforts to build what he calls a digital financial system that, if successful, would include everyone to financial services. Financial inclusion means creating channels of financial support during times when people need it the most.

Previously, Kosta Peric was the co-founder and leader of Innotribe, the SWIFTinitiative to enable collaborative innovation in the financial industry. At SWIFT, he was also the chief architect of SWIFTNet, the backbone worldwide secure network currently connecting 8,000 banks and 1,000 corporations, and servicing daily the world economy. He co-founded as well Innotribe, the initiative for collaborative innovation in the financial industry, and was the chief architect of SWIFTNet, SWIFT’s worldwide secure network currently connecting 8,000 banks and 1,000 corporations, and servicing daily the world economy.

Kosta Peric is the author of The Castle and the Sandbox, a book on how to innovate in conservative companies. You can find him on Twitter @copernicc, and Google+ and read his forward thinking blog where you can as well appreciate his less well known artistic expression, with drawings and sketches that work as both art and thought provoking infographics!

Watch the webinar

QUIZ: Take a quiz on Introduction To The Level 1 Project and its implications for DFS

Legal Disclaimer: The content appearing on this site is for general information purposes only and made available on an "AS-IS" basis. The law is subject to change and no representation or warranty is made with regard to accuracy or fitness for a particular purpose.